RSPB, and an interesting read.

MauriceMynah

There is a member in the other place, who may be a member here under a different name, I don't know. Anyway, he posted a link there which I found made interesting reading (probably because I agreed with it!)

I shall attempt to place the link here, but be gentle with me if it doesn't work, I've never done it before,

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/wildlife/11233388/One-big-grouse-has-the-RSPB-lost-its-true-aims.html

A friend of mine, a keen rough shooter was a member of the BASC which after a while he got fed up with telling me it stood for the "British Association for Shooting and Conservation" and not the "British Association for Slaughter and Carnage" as I kept calling it.

I also rewrote some words of a hymn, just for him!

All things bright and beautiful,

All creatures great and small.

Give me loads of cartridges,

I want to shoot them all.

I shoot them when their flying,

I shoot them when they sit

I shoot them while they run around,

There's no fun quite like it.

Hey ho! :)

• Like 5

As the article says, the RSPB has lost its way...time for its wings to be clipped I think.

I hope MM is not sitting on a fence accompanied by a 'Famous Grouse' otherwise he runs the risk of being a target for those gamekeepers!

• Like 2

Now't wrong with shooting, so long as it's sustainable and vulnerable species are left alone. Ex cricketers with vested interests, at least he makes no pretence about his shooting activities. Me, I no longer shoot, unless it's with a camera, but that's my choice. The RSPB should stick to birds, not politics.

The RSBP had a stool in a local town collecting funds, one of the things they were very proud of was the purchase of some forest in a far flung country to protect the habitat of some endangered  big cat.  The guy on the stool got very defensive when I asked if it was a migratory bird or not, apparently there are birds in the forest as well though he couldn't name any of them.

• Like 1