Vat Reduction Is Not Helping

Oddfellow

Historically, when VAT has been tampered with by the chancellor for specific things, for limited time scales, it has caused businesses more trouble than it's worth. We had similar problems in the financial crash where there was a temporary reduction to VAT which caused retail businesses in particular many problems, specifically with labelling and so on,. 

This latest scheme is similar. 

It has created a raft of holiday customers who think they can cancel their bookings and re-book to save the VAT difference and is causing a raft of admin and support calls across the industry which has instantly become a big time burden and, as we all know, time is money. 

Creating stimulus is one thing, but I think the overall likelihood that the VAT reduction will be widely seen in retail price reductions will be minimal.

• Like 2
  • Love 1

As a Chef I'm pleased  with the reduction of VAT for Hospitality.Think it will help,also the scheme for Monday Tuesday and Wednesday. The reduction in VAT doesn't apply  to booze.My business  has  been whacked  for  six,any help is welcome. 

5 minutes ago, Chelsea14Ian said:

As a Chef I'm pleased  with the reduction of VAT for Hospitality.Think it will help,also the scheme for Monday Tuesday and Wednesday. The reduction in VAT doesn't apply  to booze.My business  has  been whacked  for  six,any help is welcome. 

I really hope these schemes work for you.

Sadly, there are many people who, like myself, will not consider eating out until the pandemic has a much tighter lid on it. A £10 per head isn't much of an incentive to put my wife or myself in a situation that might endanger us for a short-hit of enjoyment. 

I hope, for your sake, that we are in a minority.

• Like 6

31 minutes ago, FreedomBoatingHols said: