Fridge

I would like to buy a small fridge for my boat and having never had one before I would like some advice or recommendations. We only spend a few days at a time onboard 

I have 12 volts supply with 240v shore power when it’s available but only have limited space 

Hi Craig you could consider a portable fridge they run off a cigarette socket.  we have one for the car dosn't have a freezer compartment but if you only sail for short periods !. this may suit you and be cheaper too and not need plumbing. John

• Thanks 1

There's a big difference in price between domestic fridges and mobile ones. If you need the fridge for cruising then you'll need a 12v jobby. If it's just for shore power a small domestic one may do. There's also the absorbtion/compressor option to consider; on a small boat the noise from a compressor may be annoying.

I'm no expert so if any of that is wrong someone will be along in a minute to correct it, but I recommend doing a lot of research before spending your pennies.

• Thanks 1

Good compressor fridges are fairly quiet and the kindest on batteries (except gas but don't go there), thermo electric cool boxes hammer batteries and don't cool much at all and only for while running.

Portable compressor fridge may be the way to go as you be chilling down in the car on the way to the boat.

Older compressor fridges are nowhere as efficient on power as the modern ones, look for danfoss compressor in the specs as they are the best option. 

3 way fridges (gas/12v/240v) are OK on gas and shore power but battery killers on 12v.

• Like 2

Check the BSS requirements before buying anything Craig. As a new install you are a bit controlled over what you can and can't fit. 

Try and find something with a fan cooled compressor, that brings the consumption down nicely. 

I have had one of these running on the houseboat for a couple of years now and just can't fault it, and it's fan cooled.