Norwich

DT42

Good morning

I’m new to the Broads and I’m based at Brundall in a Broom 42

If I want to visit Norwich how far can I get? Looking at a chart it looks like I could get as far as Trowse Bridge and moor up at Whitlingham Park? 

Does that sound possible? 

Thank you 

We have a Sunquest 34 moored at Brundall (Cove) and with 15ft 11 inches with the arch up, face similar bridge clearance challenges to you with your Broom 42. You are correct that the trowse Swing Bridge is our effective limit up river. We often cruise west from Brundall and then turn around at the second rail bridge over the old river at Thorpe and then head down river.

I don't believe that there are moorings available at Whittlingham Park. 

Commissioner's Cut has moorings, and is not too inconvenient for accessing Norwich via a shortish walk and then bus.

The train from Brundall is really excellent and is about 11 minutes...

• Like 1

Think Mouldy is right - that went with the changes a few years ago at Whitlingham.

You can get a few hundred yards further upstream to Trowse Eye where the Wensum and Yare join, just by Carrow Yacht Club - plenty of room to turn there as that is where the bigger coasters used to turn.

3 minutes ago, marshman said:

Think Mouldy is right - that went with the changes a few years ago at Whitlingham.

You can get a few hundred yards further upstream to Trowse Eye where the Wensum and Yare join, just by Carrow Yacht Club - plenty of room to turn there as that is where the bigger coasters used to turn.

We turned at Trowse Eye a couple of weekends ago, interesting experience due to paddle boarders, canoeists and rowers...

We did wonder about mooring at Whittlingham Park but when we got there it was pretty cler that the moorings were closed to us...

From Commissioners Cut, Thorpe is about 15 minutes, decent coffee @ Harleysand the Rushcutters is OK....