School Holiday Prices

Snowy

I work in a school, and we get our holiday sheet direct from government every year before the parents get them

we like all other schools are allowed to pick our training / non pupil days

but the minute we get these sheets and go online to book holidays the holiday firms have already been given the "nod" and increased prices accordingly 

I've been convinced for a long while now that something very under hand is going on with the government and holiday firms

the government constantly claim they are unhappy with holiday firms over charging, yet appear to do nothing about it

a friend of mine works in a different school and to combat parents taking kids out during term time

they use all their training / non pupil days in one week, thus allowing parents a 'cheap' weeks holiday 

anyone work in government willing to confirm my theory ?

Hi Snowy,

Don't know how long you have had these dates but as far as Hoseasons are concerned, the prices are fixed at this year's prices until usually the end of October. As far as i remember for the holiday industry wider, the brochures (with prices) usually launch around one year before the start of the summer season, so May for the following May to October for example. So cannot see collusion unless the schools sort out their training / non pupil days before these dates.

Regards

David

One thing about "training days" that I really don't understand is, why are they always the day after either 2 weeks or 6 weeks school holidays. Why can't they be done in the children's holiday times, as a parent I can not take my children out of school in term time, but head teachers can pick term time days to stop the children going to school, for so called teacher training days.

4 minutes ago, donnygeoff said: