Heating Recommendations

grendel

so, my 20 + year old gas boiler finally quit on Thursday, its trying to start as I can hear the spark, but it then doesnt light. as an emergency stopgap I have turned on the immersion heater to fill the gap, but am aware that is probably not going to be viable long term (££££££££)

I know that anyone I get in to try and fix it will give me the parts not available, best to replace it story, so I am trying to research the options available.

bearing in mind gas boilers are being phased out, and the boiler is the only gas appliance I still have, I am wondering whether its time to change over to some alternative.

the main issue we have here is the electricity supply, it was designed for the 1960's, when pretty much the only load was lighting.

the cutout is only a 64A cutout, so this rules out a lot of the modern electric boilers, also as I work in the industry I have access to the cable records, so I know I am one of 16 houses fed off what would now only ever be used as a single small shop service, (a 35mm2 3phase cable)so I know that anything much bigger than 3kW wont be suitable

I do have an electric cooker too which also restricts the available spare power.

So this has got me looking at the options -

do I stick with gas and just get a cheap replacement boiler?

do I try and work with an electric boiler around the power limitations I have?

do I look into alternative heating methods - eg air source heat pump? (space considerations here as I only have a small wall space where the existing gas boiler sits)

what I am looking for is anyone with any of the above who has tried any of the above and can say whether for example a air source heat pump works to heat a house and provide hot water.