Beginners, Boat Size

GES

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this and hoping for some advice.

We're looking to hire a boat for a week in August for 2 kids and 2 adults.

We were looking at a 42 foot cruiser with bow thrusters (Rapide) (mainly for the space inside).

Does anyone think this could be a bit difficult for novices to manoeuvre?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

Geoff

Welcome to the forum Geoff.

Fear ye not. You will be in safe and experienced hands. Take on board (did you like that) and listen to your trial run driver/instructor. You will not go far wrong. 

Oh! And don't forget to ask on here, the old, and the wise, and people like me, the confused.

Andrew.

Z

Many years ago we hired Grecian Girl from Summercraft which is the same type of boat as Rapide , as has already been said the internal helm vision is most certainly restricted, but they are very spacious boats and the saloon being forward means you will have a lovely vista when stern moored.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, CambridgeCabby said:

Many years ago we hired Grecian Girl from Summercraft which is the same type of boat as Rapide , as has already been said the internal helm vision is most certainly restricted, but they are very spacious boats and the saloon being forward means you will have a lovely vista when stern moored.

Many thanks, I think we might be better off on a smaller boat (at least for the first time).

Welcome to the forum.

I've never hired but in that situation I would ask the hirer if it were possible to go along, have a look and discuss it with them. Looking at some of the un hired boats on the webcams I would have thought it possible for a trial run? Or don't they do that?

23 minutes ago, floydraser said:

Welcome to the forum.