Hi all, I had a few people message me things about future flood planning options from the government. I was very disappointed to see one option of letting the broads take the brunt of it all and being done with it.

Anyone know of any further information on this subject? We need to save the broads, already lost a lot of them from being sold off privately, un cared for and now un navigable or just blocked off. We are loosing more and more beautiful water ways. 

on the other hand, if tolls keep going up like they have been, then I’m sure these problems can be resolved. 🙄

Thanks guys 

kitch

https://icenipost.com/save-the-norfolk-broads-broads-society-response-to-flooding-plan/?fbclid=IwAR3zHAZGR8UD82MYbDFdc4eotAgiGmiR2fKS2EgbrBLxClQS5TT9EjWho0U

IMG_8387.png

This is a 2008 response sent to Gordon Brown as PM,

I suspect these plans have been dropped by now following various huge impacts on the national economy in the last 15 years.

I am no expert but I thought the latest plan was a managed retreat, partly because of a lack of money, hence the problems at Hemsby and many other areas of the country.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

If they care  as much about the broads,as they do about Hemsby We have a problem. THIS weekend like many  other storm hit days.The only ones working(without pay),restoring the beach,reconnecting water to properties are the Lifeboat  crew volunteers  and locals.The Politicians like the sound  of there own voice.What they need is less talk and more action.

• Like 5

Why compare the Broads to the situation at Hemsby? Sadly whats happening there today has been happening for hundreds of years - wheres most of Dunwich gone?

I am trying to think of a Broad which has become unnavigable through neglect - I am sure others know better than me and will put me right.