Breydon Crossing October '17

JamesLV

Hi all,

Time for me to make an inevitable 'crossing breydon' post...

We're heading up to Norfolk at the beginning of October, and starting at Wroxham, I'm tempted by a trip South as I've never done it before, but I'm slightly fearful that the timings may not make it possible.

We would be looking to cross Breydon on Sunday 1st October, and slack water at GY is at 14.23, this is not so bad, give an hour to get to the first moorings taking into account any issues, hopefully there would be space there (I'm guessing a lot of boats will be going through at this point).

Its coming back that presents some issues, to make it worthwhile doing Wroxham to GY in one hit, we'd want to spend at least a couple of days south, now coming back I'm guessing we'd want to hit GY at slack water again, (we're 8'6") which on Tuesday 3rd is 16.10 and this where it becomes a bit tricky, early October whilst not dark, it will be getting that way, and I don't really fancy mooring overnight at GY, which means Stokesby is probably my next choice, 2 hours thereabouts from GY, putting us there at 18.00, moorings reliant.

I think I've probably answered my own questions already, but can anyone see any errors in my logic, aside from the fact I should've hired a shorter boat, which means tides and bridges present less issues, the ant and ludham are also causing me issues!

Thanks as always,

james 

I think looking at sunset and sunrise in combination with tide times, going south isn't really a practical option, hopefully the ant will be kind, I think realistically we've got a couple of hours before/after low tide to get through, so it may be a case of a later afternoon pass under heading up to How Hill, then an early morning pass under on the way back to the Bure

I cannot argue with your assessment!!