Hello All

Jovril

Hi All

Firstly a Happy New Year to everyone.

I have been lurking and enjoying much of the information you all put on the forum and have seen most of the Captains Blogs, especially his latest adventure with “Independence”.

We are thinking about a boat purchase this year (not the size of “Independence) but as total newbies not sure exactly what we want or should be looking for so I hope you will not mind if we ask some questions that to you may seem simple and sometime stupid but to will I am sure help us tremendously as you obviously have a wealth of knowledge that we hope to tap into.

Until our first stupid questions.

All the best

John

• Like 2

Welcome to the forum Jovril, you have come to the right place for info - tons of it here. You say you are newbies but I guess that is for purchasing a boat, presumably you have hired for a while? Was there one particular boat style that you took to and would like to own or have you got open minds? 

As already stated, there are no stupid questions so just ask away. I hope you find something suitable and can start enjoying the Broads asap. 

Thanks all for you welcome messages.

Hi Vanessan

Yes we have hired previously but have no fixed idea about boat style.

As we are looking at one mainly for two of us with occasional 4 berth requirement then we’re thinking about aft cockpit boat but open to any alternative.

I suppose our budget may dictate from those on offer.

John

Welcome Jovril.  Im a newbie too.  Try not to do what we did in rushing to buy a boat that you want to change a few weeks later! We should have looked at more boats before buying to get a better idea of what we really wanted and needed.  Its all worked out well in the end as we got a different boat. 

Hello John,

Welcome to the forum, please ask away, there are no stupid questions, beware of some of the answers however.