Rats

Wussername

7 minutes ago, Wussername said:

I have just been hit by two bills from my garage, one for £440 and today £360. Rats eating the wiring. Thus immobilising the car on each occasion.

Have any boat owners experienced rat damage

Andrew

Hi Andrew, 

I have no experience of rats with cars, but I used to be on standby working on loan to Batchelors Foods, there were loads of rats that would climb inside trunking and eat the insulation off of the cables, we had to make temporary repairs be taping the cables until new runs of cables could be installed. 

Regards

Alan

• Like 1

25 minutes ago, Wussername said:

I have just been hit by two bills from my garage, one for £440 and today £360. Rats eating the wiring. Thus immobilising the car on each occasion.

Andrew

Not a boat but we discovered the kitchen waste pipe eaten through in the cavity wall only found out when we wondered where the wastewater was going when it didn't appear outside  I've put big traps down and a man came with bait boxes but they are craftier than that. Thinking of getting a couple of Jack Russells dogs as our Labrador is a bit slow and soft. And I thought life would be easy moving to the countryside!

BTW you can get an Aerosol to spray on cables but don't breathe it in for goodness sake!

43 minutes ago, Wussername said:

Andrew

Yes, on our cars! We were away for 4/5 weeks on holiday in Australia and came back to find one car just wouldn’t start. We called the RAC who eventually established chewed wiring. The same thing happened to the other car on our next trip! This was around 15 years ago so I guess our attempts, whatever they were, to get rid of the little b*****s must have worked. 

It is not unknown for rats to desert a sinking ship!