Day Boats

Andrewcook

I think what Andrew is referring to is the increase in the numbers of dayboats  -  I saw the figures from last years tolls but cannot remember what the increase was! 

Not any surprise there especially, given the day rates, there are probably more profitable than some of the bigger boats. 

Purely short term of course, but last year - and likely this year, the demand for day boats wildly outstripped resources. The operators were so inundated that they routinely did not answer the phone once the day's boats were booked. That lasted from July to October. I know this from the number of people who called me in the mistaken belief that I was an agent for day boat hire as well as cruiser holidays. They expressed surprise that I'd answered the phone!

I am under the impression that there is a subtle difference between a day boat and a picnic boat. The former will hold four or five, no toilet, gas or water. The picnic boat has all these facilities. However this comes at a price. Approximately £260 for seven hours.

The picnic boat will hold 10 people. 

For some it may well be the first time they have had control of a boat or indeed been responsible for such a large number of people with limited experience, families in many instances with a vast range of ages and abilities.

The trial run will be limited.

7 hours ago, ranworthbreeze said:

all mod cons including a toilet

Not that the toilet was very nice to use on the two boats we had, both from different yards. Shame they don’t seem to get cleaned out every day. Or perhaps they will have to be given all the precautions needed at the moment. 

I see that Richardson’s are advertising day boats for day trippers from 29th March. 

9 hours ago, Wussername said:

Practice makes perfect . I find side mooring not a problem the stern on mooring is a challenge. Somewhat unpredictable.