Crossing Breydon, Other Than At Slack Water

750XL

Hello all, hoping for a bit of advice if I may?

I understand this may have been discussed before but a quick google didn't bring much up, every bit of info I find online says that the passage across Breydon must be made at slack water.

We're due back on the Broads for 11 nights in October (after another forum member kindly pointed out a suitable boat for us). 'Prince of Light' from Herbert Woods this time round, air draft of 6ft 5" I believe.

Looking at the tide times for those dates, for the most part slack water passage times fall either before or after sunset which obviously won't be possible for us on a hire craft.

Is it possible to take the boat through Yarmouth/Breydon at anything other than slack water? Being 6ft 5" I believe it'll fit under the bridges even at high water, but I'm unsure as to whether the currents etc will be too strong? We've hired on the Broads a few times before, so aren't complete novices to it all and I'd consider myself (fairly) competent.

Thank you in advance

image.png.42c58ec0314f133cec15dc3b273caca1.png

If going North to South you can be there at low water or even a smidge earlier if need be, but obviously it's October and if the weather has been awful then there could be quite a lot of flow.

Going back North to South you don't ideally want to be earlier than slack otherwise you'll be punching the tide for a long time up to Acle.

Based on those dates I think I'd go South on Wednesday morning and come back on Saturday or Sunday afternoon (Saturday looks easier) somewhere between low water and slack. 

I can’t speak for October as never been that late, we came through in June dead on LW due to the height of the boat bit of a struggle at first but carried on at 4 mph not at full throttle as don’t like doing that, probably cost me another fiver in fuel but hey, you do what you have to do, and a fiver ain’t a lot when spend what I do in the pubs! 😉