The Future Of Fibreglass

BrundallNavy

Strong and very long lasting... but (are we) really going soft?!

Currently no means of recycling it... but possibility of using it to make concrete. Interesting, when I was a student some 30 years ago before the internet existed I was able to ascertain that the far east were recycling glass into road base as the market for glass bottled fluids was drying up (pun intended). We don't  bury services in new roads retrospectively these days so the NDR could be a good pilot project.

Can someone donate some Andrex to the research cause quick just in case they don't make it to the market in time! My neighbour can run it up there in his Scimitar.

Sorry if I sound cynical but I can see a prospective tax regime getting laid up here.

Some early grp boats are true classics, the Chris Craft Commander being one of my favourites on the fairytale side. And look how many dinky seamasters are still in existence on the broads, staple day boat fleet fodder.

I wonder what is actually the more environmentally “green” material currently available to build a boat .

GRP which is proven to be lightweight ,malleable ,lower production costs and long lasting but apparently no satisfactory way of disposal at end of life.

Steel, heavy, costly ,corrosive , very high carbon footprint to produce but recyclable 

Wood , heavy, perishable ,costly and a diminishing resource .  (But undeniably beautiful)

perhaps the seacrete hulls of times gone by may make a come back.

• Like 1

Nocando Cambridge cabby, too much carbon footprint from production of ferrocement! The only way forwards is to carry on with all of these construction methods and offset by taxation instead, this will truly solve the “problem”..knot!

• Like 1

Go to Loddon, there are 3 bare shells just waiting to be recycled. Did I say recycled, I meant refurbished.