Ooooops...... Why Try It ....

ScrumpyCheddar

This was taken at St Olaves yesterday......

Why do people think they can squeeze and 8ft 6. High boat..... under and 8ft bridge.... why do it...

1. Inside the boat it clearly gives the boat height with the tv aerial up and down... 

2. There's height indicators by the bridge...

3. Was they born stupid...

4. Damage to the boat... but who cares not my boat attitude...I will tell them when I get back if I remember...

5. Should be removed and taken off the river...

Makes me angry this does.... total stupidity... Grrrrrrr...

imageproxy_LI.jpg

• Sad 1

I understand your frustration Scrumpy. Whilst it's true to say St Olaves is a tricky spot for the inexperienced in terms of tidal flow, I can think of no excuse for these people. It's not as if the bridge gauge would over-estimate the clearance available (probably the reverse) so what were they thinking about.

I'm not a legal expert but I suspect Brooms could sue for negligence. In practice they probably wouldn't think it worth the time and cost to do so. 

14 minutes ago, Broads01 said:

I understand your frustration Scrumpy. Whilst it's true to say St Olaves is a tricky spot for the inexperienced in terms of tidal flow, I can think of no excuse for these people. It's not as if the bridge gauge would over-estimate the clearance available (probably the reverse) so what were they thinking about.

I'm not a legal expert but I suspect Brooms could sue for negligence. In practice they probably wouldn't think it worth the time and cost to do so. 

Almost certainly one of the incresing number of the " that doesn't apply to me" brigade! 

Do Brooms charge a deposit?

• Like 1

It's a glass sun roof to.... they use to open fully up... but brooms locked them because people was hitting and smashing them out...£6000 a time ....