How And ,why And When Did You First Visit The Broads

Chelsea14Ian

This may have be covered  before.Why not talk again about our live of the broads. 

I've said many times before.I first came mid sixties  twice on Martham boats. Then October  2021 we moved to Martham. From then went back in 1974 then another long gap a day on the boat with Alan and Dave.That convinced  Marina  that boating was lovely. 

Let's hear your story. 

Ian.

• Like 5
  • Love 1

Hired a safari 25 from richos back in 2000 (yep I'm a newbie to this) for a week, had a look around on local river the week after to see what dayboat hire was costing and what was available, went into the wrong marina that didn't do boat hire but had a sale line, BAD MOVE!!!!!

Put in a cheeky offer on a Norman 20 that had sat there for ages and it was accepted, so started the learning curve, after discovering just how dear outboards and canopies are to replace I put it back up for sale about 6 weeks later and sold it in a week and came away £100 up and looked for something a bit more turnkey, wound up with a Norman 18 for a couple of years then moved up to a Norman 25 (all still on great ouse and nene).

2006 we went to see some boaty forum friends for a weekend out on their old RLM31 on the medway, weather turned and we ended up having to abandon it at queenborough all tide landing as the RNLI would not let the trot boat take anyone else back to boats as they were having too many shouts, later at the turn of the tide (pitch black by then) and a lull in the wind the rescue was done with 2 lunatics in a dinghy to get the boat back to cuxton as the weather was due to get worse the next day, I was the getaway driver for this bit.

Friends apologised for putting us off boating for life but it had given us the bug for some coastal cruising for some strange reason, a month later and we had bought their boat and had it moved back to great ouse and did many sea miles going out of denver sluice.